5 Relatable Poems

poetry

After reading about ‘The Scourge of “Relatability” in a recent New Yorker piece, I was wary to put the word ‘relatable’ in the title of this post BUT I still think there is an argument for wanting to read/watch/hear someone that reaches us on a personal level. With that in mind, I have put together a list of the 5 poems that always hit me where it hurts. Each one has meant something to me at a different point in my life and I still re-read them from time to time. I hope you find them as ‘relatable’ as I do:

1. One Art – Elizabeth Bishop

2. Funeral Blues – W H Auden

3. Just Friends – Lang Leav

4. After Awhile – Veronica Shoffstall

5. Carol Ann Duffy – Text

What did you think? Are there any other poems I should be getting all emotional to? 

Leave a Reply

