Wall Art Decisions

Screen Shot 2014-08-11 at 16.48.18

I moved into my new house early on this year and I had the initial burst of decoration enthusiasm, I bought new sheets, a bookcase and a plant. Since then however, I have been somewhat neglectful of my little space and as I only really have a bedroom to call my own (I house share with friends) this will not do. So I am determined to put my own stamp on things before it is too late and I am forever dubbed the women with bare walls. This issue I have though is that I have quite minimalist taste and so finding things that I won’t despise in a few months might be a challenge… but I might have been saved by The Motivated Type. They are a company where you can physically buy or download typography style prints, all of which are stunning. I am now just trying to figure out which prints to get and how large to print them out. The first option (above) features only two prints and these are the other ways I thought I could arrange them…

Screen Shot 2014-08-11 at 16.49.09

Two smaller with one larger in the middle for contrast…

Screen Shot 2014-08-11 at 17.09.32

Three larger prints and some peonies…

I am feeling very drawn to the last option, although perhaps with the black ampersand design as the largest one instead? I am going to have to have a play around later on in the week and see what feels right. After this little project is done I also have a few more things to do with my room:

  • Put some art above my bookcase.
  • Invest in some more pillows. I am loving this one from H&M.
  • Fix my blind. It is in a rather dire state at the moment since it fell down a few weeks ago.
  • Find the perfect willow pattern vase.

I will post updates and maybe do a room tour when the decorations are near completion, so stay tuned!

In the meantime, which print set-up do you prefer? Any recommendations for home decor blogs or sites? 

2 responses to “Wall Art Decisions

Leave a Reply

